ACM Programming Team advances to ICPC World Finals

Publish Date: 12/06/2013


(pictured left to right, Dr. Hwajung Lee, Radford University/Contest Site Director; Eric Woods, IBM Representative (and VT grad); Dr. Godmar Back; Nick Sharp, Matt Dallmeyer, and Mike O'Beirne)

December 6, 2013 -- The 2nd place VT team has advanced to the 2014 ACM-ICPC World Finals sponsored by IBM and hosted by Ural Federal University, June 22 - June 26, 2014 in Ekaterinburg, Russia.

On Nov 2nd, the Virginia Tech ACM Programming Team competed in the 2013 Regional Qualifier for the ACM International Collegiate Programming Competition (ICPC).  Virginia Tech fielded six teams of three students each, who competed among 192 teams from universities and colleges across the Mid-Atlantic region for a coveted spot at the ACM ICPC World Finals, which will be held in Ekaterinburg, Russia in June 2014.  The Mid-Atlantic region comprises universities and colleges in the states of Virginia, North Carolina, West Virginia, Delaware, Maryland, D.C., East Pennsylvania
and South New Jersey.

The ACM ICPC contest fosters creativity, teamwork, and innovation in building new software programs, and enables students to test their ability to perform under pressure.  It is the oldest, largest, and most prestigious programming contest in the world.

All participating students were CS majors or minors, ranging from sophomores who competed for the first time to seniors who participated for the 2nd or 3rd year.  Virginia Tech's top-scoring team, which consisted of CS seniors Nicholas Sharp, Michael O'Beirne, and Matt Dallmeyer, finished overall 2nd place in the region, which places it into consideration for a wildcard slot at next year's World Finals.

Overall, our teams placed as follows:

2nd place:  Nicholas Sharp, Michael O'Beirne, Matt Dallmeyer

11th place: David Hernandez, Brendan Avent, Tucker Noia

28th place: Andrew Koh, Kais Sorrels, Scott Pruett

37th place: Jean-Marie Menye-Menye, Mike Shuffett, Nate Craun

64th place: Loran Steinberg, Mohammed Davoodi, Roger Yamada

72nd place: Miraziz Yusupov,  Amit Ishairzay, Tim Collins

Our teams prepared in weekly practices and multiple 5-hour mock contests held on the weekends leading up to the regional contest.

The ACM Programming Team is open to all undergraduate students and to graduate students who have not completed more than 5 years of post-K12 education. See here for complete eligibility requirements.

Students interested in participating in the team should contact Team Coach Dr. Godmar Back (