Undergraduate Learning Center Dedicated

Publish Date: 12/30/2008

The Computer Science Undergraduate Learning Center was formally dedicated at a reception and ribbon-cutting ceremony on December 11, 2008. Speaking at the dedication were Provost Mark McNamee, Dean Richard Benson, Computer Science Head Dr. Barbara Ryder, and Dr. Dennis Kafura. Also speaking, and accepting the space on behalf of the undergraduate students, were Jenny Kammer, President of the student chapter of the Association for Women in Computing, and John Edstrom, President of the student chapter of the Assocition for Computing Machinery.

The space on the first floor of McBryde Hall includes the department's on-campus main office and advising center, a substantial area for student collaboration and peer learning, a classroom-like area for tutorials and meetings, faculty and GTA hoteling offices, and a machine room for the core computing infrastructure. The center also includes three specialized laboratories in

  • animation, gaming, multimedia, and cyberarts
  • software engineering
  • systems

The $1.2 million renovation is financed largely by the Undergraduate Engineering Fee. The portion of the fee generated by students in computer science classes for last year, the current year, and the next two years will be dedicated to financing the renovation project. Significant additional funding was provided by the Provost's office and the College of Engineering along with the Department of Computer Science.