Distinguished Lecture - Computer Science for All: Making it happen everywhere and for everyone

Location: Hancock 100
Date: Friday, November 4, 2016
Time: 11:15AM - 12:30PM
This talk is open to the general public.


Computer Science (CS) education has caught a wave – of media attention, public support, the introduction of K-12 curricula, public and private commitments and partnerships, participation by educators, and surging student enrollments at the undergraduate level. It is a startling change over just the last 5 years that culminated in the White House’s announcement of the K-12 Computer Science for All Initiative in January of 2016. This talk discusses the motivation for that Initiative, the centrality of its “for All” piece, the dramatic and changes already underway in the elementary, middle and high school levels, the challenges and pitfalls of making it happen nationwide, and the implications that it has for Higher Ed should it be successful.


Jan Cuny is a program officer at the National Science Foundation (NSF) where she leads the Computer and Information Science and Engineering Directorate’s efforts on broadening participation and education in computing. Her work led to the establishment of the eight national BPC-A Alliances that together address underrepresentation in computing from elementary school through the research and professional levels. More recently, she spearheaded NSF’s efforts to get inclusive, rigorous, academic computing courses into America’s schools. That work led to the development and scaling of several new and exciting high school CS courses (including the new AP CS Principles course) and it laid the foundation for the 2016 launch of President Obama’s CS for All Initiative.

For her efforts with underserved populations, Jan has received a number of awards including the 2006 ACM President’s Award, the 2007 CRA A. Nico Habermann Award, the 2009 Anita Borg Institute’s Woman of Vision Award for Social Impact, the 2015 NSF Distinguished Service Award, and the 2016 SIGCSE Distinguished Educator Award.